Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok,

I have some money saved up and am in need of a planer. I am looking at the dw735 or the grizzly G0453. I know that there is a difference in price (almost double) but, do you think that it is worth it? For a little background; I am a hobby woodworker. I like/want to make fine furniture and take pride in what I produce. Saying that, I am in NO way going to be mass producing cabinets or the such. I am building for friends, family and the occasional friend of a friend.

Can anyone attest to the quality differences and blade life of the grizzly vs the DW? I know that they are both three blade, but is one easier to change blades than the other?

Thanks guys for any help you might be able to give.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Jon it's more about what you want to do with the planer that matters. Blades can be had from many sources, some much better than others, so that by itself isn't an issue. Installing them for most of the small planes is the same. You use a setting tool supplied by the maker. On higher end heads you start getting jack screw adjusted systems and then there are the segmented heads and spiral heads. You shouldn't be going through knives fast enough for installation to be a deal breaker.

The other factor is what you plan to push through it. I start with lots of rough sawn lumber so I need more size and power. The other consideration is what type wood. If it will be mostly softwoods then straight knives will do a good job. If it is highly figured wood and mostly hardwoods then a spiral head is a better option. If all you are doing is sizing lumber for a project then you can easily get by with the DW which has an excellent reputation and by going with it you can use the extra money you were considering spending for the larger planer and upgrade to a spiral head.

·
Premium Member
19,238 Posts