Router Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hope this is the correct place for this.

Hello
I am just starting out with a cnc2418 engraving machine I have figured out most of the settings but am having trouble getting the engraver to not do a connecting line to the start point and a connecting line to the next letter when I’m doing txt and also the txt is upside down and backwards.
I’m using candle that came with the unit.
for the txt files I’m using Engraver Master (PachinLaser)
and is there any other software you can suggest that will do all of the extensions and not just g-code like .nc .nnc .ngc .tap .txt as well as do the drawing all in one package
I have added 2 pictures for reference.
Thank you for any help you can give me.

Attachments

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,315 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Cliff!

I'm not familiar with that software but does it have a simulation mode by which you can also see this happening? In the software I use, Carveco and Fusion 360, there are settings showing something like 'Safe Z height' and that's the distance above the work piece Z will go up to safely move to the next letter or item in its path.

David

·
Registered
603 Posts
and also the txt is upside down and backwards.
The X and Y axis are configured backwards. You need to reverse the axes.

but am having trouble getting the engraver to not do a connecting line to the start point and a connecting line to the next letter when I’m doing txt
My guess is because you are using laser software, it doesn't output moves to lift the Z axis between letters.

Take a look at the Vectric products, maybe V Carve Desktop.

·
Registered
111 Posts