Router Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks - I am a hobby woodworker and quite recently added a router table to my shop to which I mounted my Ryobi r163 fixed base router. I have the following questions.

1. I am trying to make a small box with rabbets along the edges. For this I am using a straight 1/2 inch bit and not a rabbeting bit. I would like to make 3/4 inch width cuts so that another plywood of 3/4 inch can fit and from a height perspective I would cut 3/8 inches. When I did the cuts yesterday I took out 1/2 inch in the first pass but found burn marks and cut very rough. When I reduced the cut depth and width it was a bit smooth. What is the right increments to use for multiple passes? Also I purchased a milescraft depth gauge so that I know when I got the 3/4 inch and 3/8 inch marks. I would slowly move the router depth and fence based on this. Is this the right approach?

2. Any cost effective way to clean my router bit and sharpen them?

Sent from my GM1917 using Tapatalk

· Registered
932 Posts
About 1/8" increments. Set speed based on bit diameter. To help get the exact width you could use an auxilliary fence clamped to the main fence. Set the main fench to final depth. Install the auxilliary fence and take a pass, remove the auxilliary fence and take final pass.
Get some bit and blade cleaner....I get CMT.....it's biodegradeable.
Get a diamond sharpening card to do an ocassional touch up.

· Registered
32 Posts
You can clean your bits with WD40 or kerosene and some silicon carbide paper , use finer grits like 400 600 800 grits to clean and sharpen the bits.
To sharpen the bits mount the paper to a flat surface like a 6 inch scale / ruler.
You can also get a set of these Diamond Sharpener Set there are several varieties on Amazon the link here is just one example.
calabrese55

· Registered
38 Posts