Router Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y'all,

I am excited to start learning a whole lot more than I currently know about CNC woodworking and hopefully will be building my own router within the next year. I am an architecture student at Auburn University, and for the past 2 years I have been working as an after-hours shop supervisor in our woodshop, where I caught the CNC bug. I really don't know as much about actually setting up a CNC machine, but I have enough experience under my belt to know how to operate the machinery, properly set up speeds, passes, and tolerances, and understand the gist of how it all works. I also have several years of construction experience (and 4 years of military service) and am fairly knowledgeable with CAD and the like. In reality, I don't particularly like architecture. It isn't what I want to do at all, but it has been a great conduit to help me understand good design and tectonics. I am much more interested in CNC woodworking, cabinet building, and most recently, tear-drop campers. This is something that I would like to pursue as more than just a hobby and I realize CNC opens the doors to some serious opportunities that are otherwise much more time consuming and less precise.

My wife is also very crafty, and she runs a small business from home making everything from decals to cake toppers, and has a pottery studio as well. Our house is quickly being outgrown so hopefully within the next year, we will be moving into a bigger place and I will be building a workshop where I can spread out. We typically do craft shows and showcase our work, but this year we have had to take a step back.