Router Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I joined a long time ago, but never followed up. Just didn't get into router work, but now I have a renewed interest. I found a router table on Craigslist that I could afford & want to get going.

20150629_100136.jpg

It appears to be a Rockler table because the tag on the back of the fence & on the underside of the insert plate say Rockler. I decided that I'd like to get a router lift & looked on the Rockler sight. The Rockler lift shown has a plate size of: 8-1/4" x 11-3/4".
The hole in my table and the 2 aluminum Rockler labeled insert plates measures 8" x 11".
So, what gives?
Do I have an odd ball table? An older table? Am I outta luck for a lift?
Be gentle with me, I'm a real novice here.

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
It does seem to be an oddball size - I'm not aware of any lifts with plates that size. But, since you have a router, you can fix it by enlarging the opening. Beats the alternative of throwing it away. Basically you are going to route a slightly larger rabbet around the edge of the opening. The good news is it's fairly easy to do.

First thing to do is to decide which plate size you want to use - 8 1/4 x 11 3/4 or 9 1/4 x 11 3/4. I'm guessing you will want to go with the rockler (8 1/4) opening. Rockler has the incra/jessem Mast-R-Lift II on sale right now though you can get by with a lesser lift.

There are several ways to go about enlarging the opening. The two I can think of use a template. One uses a pattern bit (straight bit with a bearing on the top - closest to the router), the other uses a bushing and a straight bit. The pattern bit approach is easier to explain.