Router Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hello, I am completely new to routing so please forgive my ignorance!

I have a rental home and the previous renter somehow made a drawer front on a bathroom vanity disappear.

I've bought a router and a package of router bits but I don't think I have the proper bit.

The profile (pictures attached) has two stepped-down levels with the inner/top level extending 1/2" into the wood face and it is 1/8" deep; and the outer/bottom level extending 1/4" into the face and it is also 1/8" deep. The profile edges are rounded (not hard right angles) where they transition from horizontal to vertical. I'm sure my terminology is all wrong, sorry!

I think I need a router bit like the one I've drawn. Please steer me in the right direction!

Thank you for your time.
(edited by moderator to help with photos)
Water Wood Natural material Rectangle Fluid

Rectangle Wood Publication Line Font

Handwriting Plant Tree Rectangle Font

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Or would I just first run a 1/2" pass 1/8" deep around the perimeter, then run a 1/4" pass another 1/8" deep. Essentially separating the 1/2" and 1/4" sections of the bit I drew into two separate bits?

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,196 Posts
That was probably done with a shaper but no reason you can't do it with a router. How many drawers are there? If it's only 2-3 you could just make new drawer fronts with whatever bit you find that you like and they'll all match.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That was probably done with a shaper but no reason you can't do it with a router. How many drawers are there? If it's only 2-3 you could just make new drawer fronts with whatever bit you find that you like and they'll all match.