Router Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

My name is Thad and I am fairly new to woodworking. My step-father loved to work with wood and had an impressive shop prior to his passing in 2009. It was something that looked interesting, but it never grabbed me - until now. I kick myself for not being interested in it sooner. The estate sale liquidated his entire shop, tools, wood stock and memories for pocket change. He had close to $15,000 invested in his hobby and it all went out the door for about $2,000.

Sigh :)

I did take a few items that I thought might come in handy with honey-do lists, but the choice equipment was nothing I could/would use at the time.

I started to get a bug to make my own shelves, maybe make some picture frames, or possibly replace molding in our home. I started to look at furniture and noticed that there is an unending supply of projects online that can be purchased and built.

Christmas came and there was a new table saw under the tree with some clamps. I recently bought a Porter Cable 693LRPK router. It came with a fixed base and a plunge base. I also read the sticky on router bits to start with. I picked up the Woodcraft 10 bit set 1/2" shank (thanks Mike) and a tongue and groove set by Freud.

I should have researched and read more before I bought the tongue and groove set. Freud recommends those bits be used at 16,000 rpm. My router is fixed at about 27,000 rpm. I am guessing that it would be a bad idea to use these bits in my router.

My shop is currently in my garage. It shares space with my VW and my wife's car. A week ago, I made a workbench that turned out nicely. I have made a router table for my router that clamps on to the workbench.

I am glad that there is a helpful community here with useful information! Thanks for the forums and the help you have provided already. I look forward to learning and sharing my stumbles as well as my successes.

Thanks again,

Thad

·