Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner woodworker and am in the market for a router. I'm trying to build a box and the router seems to be the best fit to create the cuts I need (rabbeting and mortising). Since I can't find a new PC 690LR anymore, I was looking into these models:

• Bosch 1617EVSPK w/ guide ($239 @ HD) - 1 year warranty
  • Bosch MRC23EVSK ($262 @ HD) - 1 year warranty
  • Skil RT1322-00 ($130 @ Rockler) - 1 year warranty
  • Metabo HPT KM12VCM ($150 @ Amazon/$170 @ Lowe's) - 5 year warranty
Since I'm just starting out, I was thinking of getting a cheaper router to get a handle on the tool and to learn best practices, hence the Skil or a cheap one from Harbor Freight. After gaining some experience, I was thinking of getting something better, possibly the Bosch.

Thoughts or advice? Are there any models better than these in the same price range? Thanks in advance...

·
Registered
204 Posts
I'm a beginner woodworker and am in the market for a router. I'm trying to build a box and the router seems to be the best fit to create the cuts I need (rabbeting and mortising). Since I can't find a new PC 690LR anymore, I was looking into these models:

• Bosch 1617EVSPK w/ guide ($239 @ HD) - 1 year warranty
  • Bosch MRC23EVSK ($262 @ HD) - 1 year warranty
  • Skil RT1322-00 ($130 @ Rockler) - 1 year warranty
  • Metabo HPT KM12VCM ($150 @ Amazon/$170 @ Lowe's) - 5 year warranty
Since I'm just starting out, I was thinking of getting a cheaper router to get a handle on the tool and to learn best practices, hence the Skil or a cheap one from Harbor Freight. After gaining some experience, I was thinking of getting something better, possibly the Bosch.

Thoughts or advice? Are there any models better than these in the same price range? Thanks in advance...