Router Forums banner

NEW TO CNC (Bit Help)

3K views 15 replies 11 participants last post by  difalkner 
#1 ·
Hello everyone! I'm new to the world of CNC router work and need some help getting started. I have purchased my new ShapeOkO XXL and Vcarve pro. Looking for bit selection and place to purchase without breaking the bank! Lol For starters I'm just going to be doing some simple signs with text and maybe some filigree. Will get into 3D at a later date. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

#2 ·
Toolstoday.com - free shipping - Amana bits

Hartvilletool.com - free shipping - Whiteside bits

thinkandtinker.com or precisebits.com (same place) little more pricey but good stuff

Just buy individual bits as you need them - don't need a set

1/4" and 1/8" end mill
60 and 90 degree V carve

All you'll need to start

Then get 1/4 and 1/8" ball nose

Go from there

#4 ·
Welcome to the forum! When you get a minute complete your profile with first name so we know who we're talking to and it will clear the N/a in the left panel. Add your location while you're at it, please.

Show us some photos of your setup, shop, CNC, etc. We like pictures! :wink:

David

#6 ·
John, (Honesttjohn) is correct. Start out with simple tools and add on later when the projects require it. I started out cutting signs and do so well with them I turned it into a business. Most know what projects they want to make with a CNC before purchasing but I found out 3D projects made from cherry or better wood don't sell well in my area because I would have to charge quite a bit for a sign that took 20 hours to cut. However, People will pay $30 to $80 for a 2D custom sign with their name on it. Go to Etsy and check out what people charge for signs painted from a stencil. Mine look better and sell for less.
Today, I still use the 1/8, 1/4 bits to rough and a 90 v bit to finish.

#8 ·
Welcome to the Router Forums.