Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am completely brand new to CNC routers, but I am looking for a quality machine that is able to be used in a woodshop as a production machine. It needs to be reliable and from a company that is easy to work with and good customer support.

I have seen several videos online and saw a few in person, but nothing in person that was running.

Any help from you would be great. I'm not too concerned about a budget at the moment, but the size would be the 3' x 4' size, maybe smaller, maybe larger...I'll take any and all advice.

Thanks!

Brian

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,358 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Brian! When you get a minute go ahead and complete your profile with first name and location.

What sort of items will you make on this CNC? How much space do you have allotted for the machine? I assume power won't be a problem but for production work you're going to want a spindle, either air cooled or water cooled (I went with water). What software do you plan on using for your CAD design work and toolpath generation (CAM)?

David

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you, I'll check out that link.

For what I will be making, it will all be out of wood. Not really carving, but that could be something in the future. It would mainly be cutting wooden shapes that I am currently cutting by hand. It would also be used for removing wood for nesting items.

How much space: I am building a 3rd stall to our garage, so a portion of that would be used or my current space that I have in the two car garage would be used. I guess it depends on the size of the table and clearance needed.

Power: I hope power wouldn't be a problem. I am assuming that I would just need 110v and not 220v for most machines.