Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Greetings,

I'm a super noob, never owned allot of tools or did anything "handy" well. I've always been an IT professional and never had any interest in woodworking until the Quarantine. My 2 oldest daughters came back home from college after I just downsized and we have no furniture!!!

So I decided to do a little research on building some basic desk/furniture to use in the house. I started watching Steve Ramsey and then found some easy to build designs from Ana White's blog.

We'll a borrowed Mitre saw and a new Ryobi driver/impact kit and I built my first few items, a messed up coffee table, and a beautiful farmhouse end table! I'm so proud. So I'm moving forward with my research as I look to acquire my first Circular saw, table saw and jig saw.

Wish me Luck!

Tom D.

Yorkville, IL

end table:

https://twitter.com/tsdalton/status/1258103792215744514?s=20

coffee ( messed up so made it a TV stand )

https://twitter.com/tsdalton/status/1258103959488733187?s=20

·
Super Moderator
John
6,962 Posts
Hello and welcome to the router forum, Tom

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Hi Tom and welcome.

·
Registered
508 Posts
My standard welcome message include imploring you to pursue the knowledge and safety needed to enjoy this remarkable pasttime without regrets. Please heed any info sent to you by the veterans here as you accumulate tools and take your time getting a clear understanding of their purpose.

Enough preaching - welcome!!

·
Registered
15,459 Posts
Hey, Tom; welcome! You can post pictures that are on your own hard drive by dragging them from the desktop to the field under your comments.
Please, as Brian just said, pay a lot of attention to ALL the safety comments in your new tools manuals, and everywhere else you find them.
These things can do a lot of damage in a big hurry, and usually without any warning.