Router Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to wood working and hope to gain advice that will save me the usual cost of experience. Which from my past experience has always been gain from my last mistake, which I have made many. I don't have a router yet, could use some if not alot of advice on what kind to buy what to stay away from? Would a router table be a good investment again what kind? Please remember I don't have a lot of experience with wood working. I am 56 years old and am looking to get my shop going so I can enjoy doing projects for my self and with my grand kids.
Thanks
:confused:

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Dear Packernut4 (that sounds very painful, by the way), Welcome to the Router Forums!We have literally thousands of fellow members who went half-informed and bought the first router they could justify economically. The most expensive tools are the ones that don't get used!

Often there are places such as Wood Working Shows and privately-owned shops where one may "test drive" a few different models. I am very pleased with what I'm using and so are my coworkers - so we are in agreement that we are all pleased. The rarely required service work has been no-hassle whatsoever.

Numerous manufacturers have multiple router offerings from the most basic to ones with all of the "bells and whistles". Dependant on the types of work for which your router will be utilized you may not need all of the options available. Personally, nothing is more aggravating to me than to have to send-out a tool and await repairs - now I go to great lengths (when required) to ascertain that what I am buying is servicable reasonably.