Router Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Everything is started by making a large canvas frame. Now I have got poisoned with the joy of woodworking.
It is time to build my first router table:

I just wanted to get your opinion on which brand i should go for router table setup.
I am very new to woodworking and have no experience whatsoever. I am trying to build a router table with incra positioning system. Since I still have a chance to choose the router that will stay on this table, I thought it is better to get experienced ppls opinion.
I narrowed the routers into 3 models based on price, popularity, functionality(above table adjustment etc), power etc.

PORTER-CABLE 892 - Decent power, popular among ppl, above table adjustment seems good, how about bit change while it is mounted on table?
Bosch 1617EVS - Decent power, pretty popular, I am not quite sure on ease of use of above table height adjustment: Can you lock and unlock the adjustment above table as well?
Bosch MRC23EVS: Very powerful, high ratings, same adjustment concerns as 1617. Getting power from its base, it could be a disadvantage if you get a router lift.

So above are what I found on internet.

Could you please share your opinion on router selecting to help me or other ppl as well. If this is covered on another thread here I apologize.

Sincerely
Levent

·
Registered
225 Posts
Hi Levent. Even with my limited experience I would suggest a Triton. It has everything you require for above the table adjustment except position locking. The only router I have used with above table locking is the Freud 1700, but it's other shortcomings discourage me from recommending it to you. Good luck. Al

·
Official Greeter
Ross
9,172 Posts
Welcome to the forum Levent.

·
Premium Member
Rick
17,510 Posts