Router Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Retired old fart working with wood
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all you nice people.

I have been creating wooden rustic home decor over 10 years and have been an artist for most of my life.

I have been using a plunge router free hand making signs and plaques.

I am getting older and this past year I have been experiencing blurry vision and cramping hands when using the plunge router.

I decided to purchase a CNC machine to help alleviate these issues.

February 6th, I purchased a Bobs E4 CNC with a 24" x 24" cutting area. and received it on Feb. 15th.

I am brand new at this new skill set and have a LOT to learn.

I use VcarvePro, and use Vtransfer to send Gcode to the CNC.

My husband and I built the CNC inside the house, then moved it into the garage a few days ago.

I spent the last few days getting used to jogging, homing my CNC, and setting up material onto the spoil board.

I attached a 3/4" MFD on top of the CNC spoil board, ruled a 2" grid with a sharpie, and screw my material directly to the board. I make sure to leave 1/2" wast on top and bottom of the material to accommodate the screws. I use a flat edged exacto blade to scrape down the screw marks. I find this much easier than using clamps.

I even successfully ran couple of jobs.

I will have a LOT of questions, so I hope you are ready for me.

Today in Meadville, Pennsylvani we are experiencing a lot of snow so I am staying inside the house.

Thanks for reading

Karen

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,359 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Karen!! And thank you for completing your profile! We ask that often but only about 1 in 50 do that, maybe 1 in 100.

We do like photos so show us that new CNC, your shop (unheated garage - get some heat!), tools, projects, etc. whenever you're ready.

David

·
Super Moderator
John
6,973 Posts
Welcome to the router forum Karen
Sounds like your off to a good start

Reactions: difalkner

·