Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I must admit that if it had not been due to a link from Cutech, I probably wouldn't have hit upon the routerforums site!

I am a novice woodworker (and I use that term loosely!) who came into the game because of a neighbour wanting to dispose of Pine & Fir trees from his garden and I was wanting to burn as seasoned wood. Luckily, he both cut & delivered them without charge and some were around 12' lengths - far too good to just chop up into firewood.

I bought a chainsaw & mill and began learning how to mill, sticker & dry and ultimately use, the timber in a more rewarding & meaningful way and slowly began to accumulate the toys. As a retired male from England, now living in NY, money is a bit tight so bargain machines have been sought but most work has been done with a cordless drill & circular-saw and lately a Rockwell Table-saw.

There are limits to what I can achieve without undergoing exhaustive work and this leads me to the Cutech site as I have been pondering for ages, whether to buy a jointer/edger but have been reluctant to so do because of cost. Gaining a perfectly flat face and square edge I have come to appreciate, is very important when building things from wood! Similarly, I thought I had a need for a router and bought a Milwaukee unit but then understood the need for a table too and I am flummoxed as to which of the many options available, would prove the best value for money ... and so it continues!

Hopefully, I'll be able to glean more information now in order to make some sound purchases with which to improve my skill-level!:laugh2:

Attachments

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Welcome to the forum. You don't have to spend lots on a router table for it to be functional. I built one for my son this past summer out of repurposed materials for $5. Pictures of it are in my uploads as well as a link to the thread.

·
Registered
901 Posts