Router Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
As a complete beginner here on the forum, it is probably quite sensible and polite to present myself before I present my problem.

My name is Brynjulf and I am on the wrong side of the sixty. Or seen with my own eyes, I'm in just the right place in life. I have a different peace in life now than I have had before - do not have to perform for the environment to accept. Just need to enjoy myself with the best I like to do and spend the time just the way I want.

What spends most of my time is being a teacher at a high school in southern Norway that trains carpenters. Skedsmo upper secondary school. I have previously owned my own carpentry workshop, been a manager at one of Europe's largest furniture manufacturers, have been a teacher for a period and for 15 years had my own drawing office where I mainly used Autocad.

Being back in school again has been a bit frustrating, but I find out eventually. At first I was very frustrated with how old-fashioned everyone was teaching - with almost exclusively a focus on how everyone did it before.

One thing I thought was absolutely awful, our hearing how often the plunge router was talked down. The machine I have always loved most of all, and which could really make what I made shine. It was referred to by ignorant fools as a hobby tool - is there anyone in here who can agree with this ????

The war is over now, and everyone has understood how wrong they have been. I choose to believe. For no one is talking disparagingly about plunge the router anymore. I choose to believe.

I have also changed a lot along the way and the industrialist has become more of a craftsman over time. But I never have to plunge the router. This is still the funniest machine I use. It also gives me the most excitement when I try something new. There is always something new to invent. Circular jiggs, rounders, lathes and a three-axis CNC.