Router Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've just mounted my Makita plunge router to a Craftsman table using an adapter plate. The tip of the bit will only protrude maybe 1/2 inch max over the table top. Is this normal?

The plunge mechanism is compressed to it's fullest so I can not get anymore adjustment. If I let the router spring to its normal height, the tip of the collet(1/4") is way under the table. Before I run out to buy a new router, is there anyway that I can extend the collet so that I can get some more height adjustment?

Yes I am a newbie and have no actual routing experience. Please help!?!?!?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Hi Tabb, did you take the plastic plate off the router base? You can lift the bit a little, it does not have to be fully seated in the collett. I'm not familiar with "craftsman" tables but maybe you could rout a little from underneath.

·
Registered
387 Posts
Hi Tabb: How thick is the adapter plate. Does it call for the removal of the original
router sub base. which Makita router are you using. I use a Makita 3612BR in my
Oak-Park table and it works great. The Oak Park plate replaces the Makita sub base
and gives me plenty of room for hieght adjustment. I would believe that your problem is the adapter plate is to thick or that the sub base should be removed prior to mpounting the router. Hope this helps. Woodnut65

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thebig0 said:
Hi Tabb, did you take the plastic plate off the router base? I'm not familiar with "craftsman" tables but maybe you could rout a little from underneath.
The plastic base has been removed. By rout a little from underneath, do you mean remove material from the table? That may be a problem as the table is made of metal. Where the router mounts to the table there are raised up edges to give the table strength. This accounts for 1/2". When added to the metal adapter plate (1/8 to 1/4") I've got a huge gap to make up.