Router Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new this forum and was working on a project, need some advice. I have just started using my CNC router, and am making a sign in which the letters are engraved and are all an inch or less tall. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to paint these? Is spray paint an option and sand off the excess or do they have to be hand painted? Can any type of paint be used and should the wood be sealed before?

Thank you very much! I have never done this before and appreciate all of the help!

·
Super Moderator
John
6,956 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.

·
Official Greeter
19,050 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Depending on the size of the letters, I would tend to go with light coats of spray paint or finish.
Is the sign for indoors or outdoors and what timber are you using?

·
Registered
99 Posts
Spray your material with clear coat before carving. Let dry, then carve your letters. The clear coat seals the edges around the carved letters. Then spray you letters with any type of paint, ink, etc., a quick wipe with paint thinner removes most of the overspray. Not to much paint thinner so you don't remove the paint in the carved area. After dry, sand what overspray may be left. Then, stain/clear coat what ever finish you plan on using. If you don't seal the edges, paint will bleed into the surrounding grain edges, making a sloppy design.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.
I did an outdoor sign using cedar. 1st stained and sealed with spar varnish the wood to color match, 2nd routed letters, 3rd filled letters with color using a plastic squeeze bottle and pointed tip. Don't try to fill the letters full (I did and the paint peals out over a couple of years). Do 2/3 thin coats. Reseal with clear spar varnish over the entire sign.

·
Registered
601 Posts