Router Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My brother has a company and I am making him some signs. I routed a couple of boards with the text and numbers in the same design as their logo using a core box bit. I have also used a round over bit on the edges and sanded the whole thing. Now I am looking to stain the signs, something light in color, but was wondering how it might look to use colored paint for the numbers and letters to match their actual logo. Their colors are black, grey, and a light green. This is my first attempt at making a sign (I've only owned a router for a week or two), and I don't want to ruin the work I've done so far. I free-handed everything. No stencils, no skis, no tracing, so I know it's not perfect. Thank you.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Hello Brad and welcome to the forum.

I personally like painting the text on wooden signs. I think it looks sharp. I think that it's possible that more than one or two colors may begin to look cluttered, however.

Check out this article about sign making, wherein the letters are indeed painted black:

Wooden grave marker

Good day.

·
Premium Member
2,413 Posts
Hi Brad. Welcome to our little corner of the 'net.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the help, Phillip. The actual logo is letters in grey thinly outlined in green, and numbers in black, also thinly outlined in green. The letters are on one sign, and the numbers on another, so I was hoping that might help prevent any clutter, but clutter is definitely something I'm trying to avoid. Not really sure what direction I'm going to go yet. Thanks again.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I do quite a bit of signmaking, although I do most of it with a CNC router. But as an example of an alternative way to think about painting, the attached photo is a sign that was v-carved and then the recessed area painted.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,983 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Brad.

·
Registered
242 Posts