Router Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, a friend of mine had several Pecan Trees come down in the last storm. He has only looked at one of them and says it has a 24" trunk and is not rotted anywhere. Since I have a sawmill, I'm considering pulling it over there for the lumber. Since I'm new at this, I just wanted to ask if anybody has used any Pecan lumber for projects. Is it worth sawing up? He says I can have it for free. If so, what dimensions do you guys think I should saw the boards. The guy I bought the mill from tells me it is like a lower grade of Hickory. He also tells me to saw nothing wider than 4" because no matter how long I dry it, it will warp when used in furniture of cabinetry. I'm thinking I'll saw it 4 1/2" X 1 1/2" X ?ft. I'll have to look at the log to see how long the boards can be. This will leave me room for finishing later. Any thoughts, recommendations.

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
yes...
it's often mixed/confused w/ hickory...
tools and finishes the same...

Common Name(s): Pecan
Scientific Name: Carya illinoinensis
Distribution: South-central United States and Mexico
Tree Size: 100-130 ft (30-40 m) tall, 2-4 ft (.6-1.2 m) trunk diamete
Average Dried Weight: 46 lbs/ft3 (735 kg/m3)
Specific Gravity (Basic, 12% MC): .60, .74
Janka Hardness: 1,820 lbf (8,100 N)
Modulus of Rupture: 13,700 lbf/in2 (94.5 MPa)
Elastic Modulus: 1,730,000 lbf/in2 (11.93 GPa)
Crushing Strength: 7,850 lbf/in2 (54.1 MPa)
Shrinkage: Radial: 4.9%, Tangential: 8.9%, Volumetric: 13.6%, T/R Ratio: 1.8
Color/Appearance: Heartwood tends to be light to medium brown, with a reddish hue; sapwood is a paler yellowish brown.
Grain/Texture: Grain is usually straight, though occasionally wavy. Texture is medium, with a low natural luster.