Router Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi I am new to using a router. I have a table with a lift I am trying to make frames. I do not want to cut them to a 45 degrees angle. I want to but them up glue and nail them together. I have made a 1/4 wide cut for the glass but I can’t figure out how to make the grove not go all of the way to the end on 2 sides. So the frame looks correct. Can someone help. Also can I spouse the table to cut the width of the wood to make a lap joint.
thank you
Brad

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
496 Posts
hi Brad and welcome to the forum.
it may help if you can provide a sketch, drawing or photos of what you want to do.
also, one that you have made so far so we can see what you are doing.
how many do you have to make ? are they all the same size ?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
it may help if you can provide a sketch, drawing or photos of what you want to do.
The frames are all the same for now. I am just starting learning how to make them.

I just posted 2 photos to the original post. I am just learning how to make them. I see ways to make lap joints. Can I get a 1” wide bit and use my table just to cut the end?
thanks
Brad

·
Official Greeter
19,728 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Brad.

Reactions: Breylek

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you I have a bunch of old fence wood I want to recycle into pix frames. I am trying to figure out what is the best way to make those. The cost of pre made frames is crazy. This way I can customize the frame to meet the size of the photo I want to frame. I want a different look don’t want to go wits 45. The frame needs to stand out. I would appreciate help with this as I am new to working with wood table saws and routers.
thanks
Brad

·
Registered
Paul
2,095 Posts
Caution: Old fence boards may be toxic, take care not to breathe the dust.