Router Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi friends, my name is Jenn. I'm fairly new to woodworking but I started getting into it enough that I've recently set up a router sled for help with flattening my own slabs. Up until this point I've never used a plunge router and my familiarity with routers in general is quite minimal.

So I purchased a Triton TRA001 plunge router, was installing the 1/2 collet to install the 1/2 router cutter. But I tightened the collet without the cutter installed. Now the collet itself is stuck on the spindle whereas the collet nut comes off freely. I cannot get it off. If someone has a magic suggestion as to how to get this off without damaging the spindle, please tell me.

I attached a photo for reference. Thank you 馃檹
Wheel Automotive tire Rim Vehicle brake Wood

Registered
Welcome to the forum! I tried duplicating this on my Triton but can't separate the collet from the nut. What I think I would do in your situation is heat the spindle and then pull the collet out using pliers.. You might ruin the collet but they are easy to find on the web. Another option would be to use a penetrating oil like Liquid Wrench, but I really think that heat from a small torch is your best option.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to the forum! I tried duplicating this on my Triton but can't separate the collet from the nut. What I think I would do in your situation is heat the spindle and then pull the collet out using pliers.. You might ruin the collet but they are easy to find on the web. Another option would be to use a penetrating oil like Liquid Wrench, but I really think that heat from a small torch is your best option.