Router Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay. I am the first to admit that I am a rank amateur while working with wood. Still, I have all of these red oak church pews, and no idea what to do with them.

Can you point me to a handy dandy idea book or site to steer me in the right direction? I have a lot of tools, and a CNC router table. Almost no knowledge of how to deal with wood though. I know it is a CRAFT that must be learned, and I am sure that if any project was posted here as a challenge, my submission would be the absolute crappiest.

People have complimented me on my redwood decks. I tell them, "You can be 1/2" off in all directions on a deck, and it will still look beautiful! Try that margin of error while making a piano!" Fine detail is my Kryptonite. :cry:

I want to make something that I CAN make out of this wood. So I won't attempt any inlay work or puzzle joints or anything fancy. Just simple things that I can make and sell. A man in my town makes wood bee traps! A block of wood with a jar on the bottom and a diagonal hole through the block. I am a BIT more talented than that, but you won't see me making any jewelry boxes or violins!

I am open to suggestions!

Joe

·
Official Greeter
19,109 Posts
I would be tempted to start with something small...Errors create less sawdust.....LOL..

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am thinking that if I can find something that I can make, and I can make them "cute" enough, I might be able to set up a booth at Christmas time, and sell them all at once.

Joe

·
Premium Member
20,438 Posts