Router Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I realize that this site has advertizement from Blades and Bits. Being a Canadian, we pay much higher prices fro Lee Valley bits or Freud. So before ordering I'm just enquiring on the quality of these bits compared to Freur or Lee Valley.

I'm just a hobbyist so I dont use them for commercial purposes. I'Ve used Canadian tire bits in the past and they are junk.

So Before ordering I sure would like opinion from menbers.

thanks

Robert

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
RobertJR

Just my 2 cents.

I have seen Freur bits go right down the tubes when they get abused .
So it comes down to how you use your bits ,if they get real hot, that will do it most of the time ,so it always best to make small cuts and sneek up on the last cut.

Most Mfg. have a standard to work with when they make router bits.
Freur is one Mfg. that doesn't make lower grade router bits like others do.
I'm not sure about Lee Valleys ,I have not used or checked out their bits.

But I used Grizzly bits and they sell both types high end and lower end ones.
e.g. C1721z and C1721 (z part numbers) (are high end type, micro grain type)
http://www.grizzly.com

Sometimes you want the best money can buy; sometimes your project requires you to use the best router bits made.
If so , these router bits fit the bill!

High End ones ▼
Starting with a better quality steel for the bodies (SAE4140), we heat treat them to the appropriate hardness and apply K10 micro grain carbide.
They then precision grind the blades to 800 grit (using the wet grinding process) so that they are razor sharp and then finish them with a baked on metallic paint.
These router bits are made for us and to our exacting specifications in an ISO 9002 rated factory. Try one - And see for yourself!!

Lower end one ▼
Grizzly® cutters feature top-quality carbide - the best available for wood cutting applications.