Router Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie. I want to buy a new router (never owned one b-4) and need some expert knowledge and opinion as to what brand and model of routers to buy. I need to make nest boxes for my birds and to do some other wood work projects around the house. I am pretty good at using other power tools. I am looking at 2 brands; the porter cable 895pk or porter cable 593-7518, the 2nd is by Bosch 1617EVSPK, OR is there any better one than these 3 choices. After reading the feedbacks from people that have used them I do not know which one to purchase.

thank you very much and would appreciate for your expert outputs..

Eve
words are all-powerful if applied correctly, change your words and you can change the world. EMR

·
Registered
337 Posts
Hi eva and welcome to the forums,

The selections you have chosen are between two 2 1/4 HP and a 3 1/4 HP. The decision would be made easier if you knew what your woodworking future held. If you plan to use the router in a table, I'd head right for the 3 1/4 HP. It can handle anything you throw at it in the future. If you plan hand-held, the bulkiness of the 3 1/4 HP can be an issue.

There are other considerations that should be taken in if/when you are able to better define your future use.

If your pocketbook allows it, one of each would be the a great choice.

I just know that somewhere on the forums I've read; "you cannot have too many routers". ":^)

Mike

·
Registered
3,046 Posts