Router Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm newbie to woodworking and have a question that I couldn't find an answer to on the internet.

I find when making plastic base plates it's difficult to drill the center hole perfectly centered with the edges.

The closest method I have found is to:
- Make a blank base plate with outside dim's to size
- Attach a piece of 3/4" wood to the blank
- Use template bit to route the wood to exact size of the blank base plate
- Using dial calipers mark the center on the wood.
- Clamp the assm'y to the drill press table
- Use a Forstner wood bit to drill the center hole thru the wood
- When the bit reaches the blank base plate, Stop
- Put water in the hole that is in the wood(to cool the plastic while drilling)
- Drill the plastic center hole

The result was the center hole was off center .010" for a .020 side to side misalignment.

Being a newbie, I don't know if I'm trying to be a perfectionist, or the misalignment will cause issues.

My question how close is close enough?

Thanks, in advance.

Rout1101

·
Marine Engineer
Doug
4,960 Posts
Rout,

Welcome!

It really doesn't matter where the hole is in relation to the center of the base plate. Unless you are using template guides on the plate, the bit placement doesn't matter. You are guiding wood against the fence or against a bearing guide on the bit, so that is the reference point.

If you want to use template guides, you will need to make sure the router is centered exactly on the hole in the plate.

There are alignment tools you can use if you need to center a router to an alignment bushing. The one below is a bit fancier than the plastic one I have

https://www.amazon.com/Bosch-RA1151...=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B004Z8SM6M

·
Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
4,189 Posts