Router Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

My name is Brian and I am a general contractor, I own a porter cable router plunger combo, and I was at home depot and noticed that ryobi has a full set of jigs for 87.00 while the porter cable you have to buy separately. Is there a differance between the two? thier both 1/4 inch shanks size and made of carbide. Should I just continue to buy the porter cable bits and leave the other alone?

thanks.

·
Retired Moderator
2,093 Posts
Hi Brian welcome to the forum. I have a ryobi straight bit 1/4" shank I used it for 3 truck loads of rough sawed lumber before I got my jointer and it cuts the same as the day I bought it. Just gotta keep them cleaned up so they don't loose a edge. I've seen porter cable brand they look good but are pricey but the old saying is you get what you pay for.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't think i wrote my question clearly. Home depot sells entire bit set for 87.00 for thier ryobi routers, while with the porter cable roters, each bit has to be bought separately. are there a differance between these bits?

·
Premium Member
508 Posts
Hello hammernail, Welcome to the RouterForums :)

One suggestion. Before purchasing the Ryobi bit set HD I would do some shopping around. You may come out better by looking on line or Checking out the another store.

When I bought my first bit set, I purchased them from Lowe's (I believe they were Whiteside or something like that) but now wish I had gone online and checked out what I could have gotten for the same price or a little more.

See this page for On Line Shopping, I have nothing against Ryobi bits but would look on line first. I believe Woodline carries a 66 piece set. This will be my next bit set purchase I am putting it on my Wish list or Xmas list. I hope this helps.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Hi Hammernail,
Welcome aboard.