Router Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm kind of new at this woodworking stuff, so please pardon me if this is a question that the more experienced woodworkers will roll their eyes and think "please, not this again". :)

I purchased a router, table and some bits recently for a home project which turned out great and now want to do more. The router bits I bought were from Sears, not the best I know, but served the purpose well. My next project will require me to work with plywood so I bought a set of undersized bits from Rockler. They look like nice bits, but the only marking on them is the brand name and stock number, not the size. This leads me to think down the road of having perhaps dozens of different sized straight bits and having to break out a caliper to make sure I have the size I need for every job, not a pleasant thought.

So, I guess my questions are:
1. Are most bits marked on the shank with the size like Sears? If so which ones are?

2. If not, how do you deal with this problem of keeping them straight?

Your time and answers are appreciated.
Thank You,
Joe Ohlandt

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Joe

Most are NOT marked, BUT you can buy a tool that will mark them, it's called Elctro-Etch that will use a small pad ( 1 1/4" x 1 1/2" ) you type or write on the green paper and then just press in on the bit BUT it's about 100.oo bucks with the 110 volt pad and chem., it will mark stainless steel ,just about anything . :) It looks black the norm, it burns the mark in .
Some Mfg. use the same type of tool to put the name on the tool/bits.

But the easy way it make a router box for you bits just cut out some pictures from one of the many cat.and paste them to the box but once your done with them they go right back in the box in the same hole.

Many craft stores sell glue that's clear when it's setup.