Router Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello woodworkers!

I have been reading your posts for the last few weeks and decided to finally make my voice heard, and also to use this opportunity to try to get your ideas on my router box / mini table that I want to build. I got this idea from John English's article in the "Jigs and Fixtures for the Table Saw and Router Book" and decided to make my own version. I have attached a picture of what I expect it to be in the end.

The box is for a Bosch 1400 ACE router, it is going to have a polypropylene (PE) top,
and the sides I am thinking of making out of 44x44 mm pine wood, and maybe some clear plastic 5mm foil.

This is where I need some of your ideas, any ideas are welcome, but keep in mind that I am working on a limited budget, and I am new to woodworking.

1 - The top is 15mm and I was thinking of cutting a recces in it to bring the router up about 5-6mm. Can I use the router to cut this, and if so witch bit is good, and what is the best way to do it. I would also gain 6mm by removing the base plate from the router.

2 - The router fence. At this time I am thinking of making it top mounted in 2 holes in the top, with 2 slots for the clamping screws,

3 - Safety switch ... :)shout:hate it!!!) Any of you know how to make it "always on" with out opening the router, and using some improvisation? Now I am thinking of making a switched power box to plug the router in, and tying a zip-tie to the switch

4 - Chip collection ??
5 - Any problems you see in this project

Thank you for making this nice forum so newbies like me can get ideas and help.

Marius M.:thank_you2:

Attachments

·
Registered
766 Posts
Greetings Marius,

Welcome to The Router Forums!

I would recommend the use of a mounting plate to attach the router to the table top.