Router Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks. Is their anyone who uses a jig, or has boughten some type of router jig that will guide you through the repetitious cuts that is willing to share where you got it or did you build it? I want to make some shelving and was wanting to use my routers for dado's. I am a disabled vet I can't really get under the table saw and put a dado blade on nor make adjustments to it. If you would be so kind as to post a link, or give me a model name/number , or any info you give would be of great appreciation.

Thank you much...Michael

·
Registered
3,456 Posts
Hi Michael and welcome

Fist, thank you for your service

You're probably talking about a dado jig - here's a link to a thread containing info from a member @MT Stringer with his rendering of an adjustable dado jig.

If you have any questions, I'm sure other will be along shortly to help you out.

Vince

http://www.routerforums.com/jigs-fixtures/49738-exact-width-dado-jig.html#post420450

And here's a link to a video demonstrating the use of on:

http://www.thewoodwhisperer.com/videos/exact-width-dado-jig/

·
Registered
8,954 Posts
My prefered set up for shelves is a straight edge, router and a straight bit. A short dado is the table saw and miter gauge, Rabbeting the edge a router and rabbet bit, table saw and dado or box cutter blade, or router table and rabbeting or straight bit, which ever works best for that particular operation.
There are tons of other jigs for routes on this forum.

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for asking the question.

Herb

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Michael. Mike and Vince has given you the best method for your abilities. This will save you from trying to set up a dado blade in the table saw. A simple jig and you can route the dado(s) out wherever you want.

Bill

·
Registered
692 Posts