Router Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am a woodworker with beyond beginner skills. I have made a router table and am trying to decide what insert to use. I have not yet constructed the table top itself, just finished the cabinet below. Any advice on what to buy? I am considering the Woodpecker, Rockler and Incra router insert aluminum plates. Does anyone have experience with any of these?

·
Registered
10,715 Posts
Hello Linda, and welcome to the RouterForums. Nice of you to join our group. Always room for another lady.

·
Registered
10,671 Posts
Greetings Linda and welcome to the router forum. We are pleased you have chosen to join with us.

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
Hi,
I am a woodworker with beyond beginner skills. I have made a router table and am trying to decide what insert to use. I have not yet constructed the table top itself, just finished the cabinet below. Any advice on what to buy? I am considering the Woodpecker, Rockler and Incra router insert aluminum plates. Does anyone have experience with any of these?
You forgot two, the OakPark/Routerworkshop frugal method (excellent philosophy) or the do it yourself copy of the oakPark/Routerworkshop frugal method.

Hi Linda:

You don't just buy a baseplate. ( how many times have I had to write this ...) The baseplate dictates how you will spend your money for the rest of eternity. Each manufacturer has devised a method of extracting money from your pocketbook just to maintain and advance with your collection of routers.

Rick Rozendahl (I think that's how you spell it) devised a series of tools for using a router that was inexpensive, complete, didn't cost a fortune to manufacture, and could be made at home with some care. The collection addresses more project types than any other family of router tools.