Router Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
To start off, I’m a novice wood worker. Gonna try and make this as brief as possible. The wife and I decided we are going to get rid of the corian counter tops in the kitchen and replace them with butcher block tops.The woods we decide to use are a combination of Zebra wood, Black Limba and Bubinga. I decided to make a cheap prototype. In fact, the 1/8” roundover bit for the router cost more than the wood and the gel urethane that I used to complete the cheap prototype. I know I said I was going to make this as brief as possible. For some reason I had to add the back story.

Here’s my issue. When using the 1/8” roundover I came across a mind blowing issue. When running scrap wood through the router to set the height I wanted, it looked as though the router bit started raising gradually from the mid point for the wood and further until a complete pass. Made no difference using feather boards to hold the scrap in place. Anyone come across this problem? Not sure I will route the counter tops but, this is an irritating issue.

Thanks for any input.

·
Premium Member
2,413 Posts
Hi Frank. Welcome to our little corner of the 'net.

A couple questions... have you used this router before? Or is it brand new to you?

A common problem for new router users is putting the bit all the way to the bottom when it is inserted. Several reasons not to do this:1)The collet is designed to pull downwards slightly when tightened. If the bit is bottomed out, it can't pull it down and therefore can't properly tighten on the bit shank. 2) Heat will transfer from the bit directly to the motor and perhaps result in premature failure.

The other common reason for this to happen is that the shank is undersize. If it's a bit from a major manufacturer of bits, this isn't likely, altho not impossible. If it's a cheaper brand of bit, perhaps sourced off Ebay or Amazon, quality is hit and miss.