Router Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to router and wonderd what you wear for protection? The idea of a broken bit spinning out of control towards my body is a bit unnerving. I do have a fave shield but not much other than a cloth apron for body protection

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Eye protection is mandatory.
I have had a bit disintegrate on me. Luckily unharmed, but the experience is not one I could recommend. Never take a chance with your eyes, Theyre the only set youre going to get.
Fingers also need to be kept well away from the cutters. If youre using small pieces of wood that put your fingers within afoot of the blade, use push blocks.

heres the top of the range push block, but any home made push block is better than nothing.

·
Premium Member
17,427 Posts
My sister works at a prison in Alberta and sent me a bullet proof vest . Joking lol , but the thought crossed my mind .
I wear a hard hat with safety glasses and sometimes use the shield. It also has hearing protection on it , those ear muff things . I have a dust mask rated for H2S .
As for my chest , just my Tshirt under my bins . Maybe I should have kept my roost guard from my dirt biking days ?

I have heard of people dying from injuries from a bit breaking , but it's pretty rare and no one here's complained about dying from it yet

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Rick switch out the canisters on that mask to OV (organic vapor).

First rule if you are worried about bits hurting you is don't buy the Chinese ones. Buy a quality brand like Whiteside, Freud, CMT, Amana, Infinity, or Lee Valley. A bit won't come shooting out of a collet without warning. First they'll start to slip a little and ruin your cut. When that happens get a new collet. As said, wear safety glasses and hearing protection. Like Rick said, injuries from damaged bits are pretty rare. I don't remember a member telling us that happened in the 6+ years I've been on the forum.