Router Forums banner

Router table: Pocket hole jig vs. Dowel joints

8K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  beerknurd 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I'm leaning towards building a simple router table from MDF similar to the one below. I was planning on using dowel joints but a friend of mine made a good point, why not just use a pocket hole jig. This seems much easier to me as the odds of me drilling the holes correctly for the dowel joints with a cordless drill are pretty bad. As I am new to woodworking, it's tough for me to know if this is really a good idea or not. Any thoughts?

--Nick

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi Nick - in general, I haven't had exactly stellar success mixing screws with MDF. Best luck I've had is using small pilot holes which the pocket hole jig doesn't normally provide you with. A simple rabbet and glue joint should work just fine for you, I wouldn't resort to either dowels or pockets.:)

#3 ·
I believe the plans for the Oak Park table and base show dowels. But if you are set on either dowel or pocket hole, I would go with pocket hole (coarse thread) and glue.

In either case, make sure your cuts are straight.

#4 ·
I have the Kraig pocket hole jig, it makes really strong joints. you need to use course thread pan head screws. You have to be careful not to stip the hole. I predrilled first, used my screwdriver drill to get it started and then Hand Tightened the final few turns.
I hate dowels I can never get them lined up right.

#7 ·