Router Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am Bong and I come from the Philippines. I am a hobbyist and most of my carpentry jobs are just for use at home. Lately, I wanted to venture on using a router for my projects at home (frames, tables, drawers, etc...) and I was browsing around for some tips on what type of router to buy or are available which I could use.

I may do carpentry as a hobby but I want my tools long lasting, versatile, and easy to use. I'll be delighted to get some information by way of this forum.

Thank you

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
Hi,

I am Bong and I come from the Philippines. I am a hobbyist and most of my carpentry jobs are just for use at home. Lately, I wanted to venture on using a router for my projects at home (frames, tables, drawers, etc...) and I was browsing around for some tips on what type of router to buy or are available which I could use.

I may do carpentry as a hobby but I want my tools long lasting, versatile, and easy to use. I'll be delighted to get some information by way of this forum.

Thank you
Hi Bong:

Your first problem is going to be deciding what philosophy you're going to use. For example, go to this url:

The Woodworking Channel

click on "videos" and on the top of the video window, scroll across and find "the router workshop."

Watch some of these videos. Next, go to LeeValley Tools and find their product number "05J20.01." This is the next philosophy.

Now you've seen two methods that function at "least cost." The OakPark you can make yourself but the LeeValley you have to buy.

Next philosophies include router lifts, above table bit changes, spindle locks and the list goes on. Do a google search for "router lifts" and you'll be introduced to a wide variety of options, each more expensive than the previous and each more restrictive than the next.