Router Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the opportunity to pick up a Grizzly Shaper, 3/4 HP, Model G0510Z for $200.00. I need to make a bunch of mouldings and RP doors.

Would this shaper be better suited to the task than a table mounted router? I have a 15 amp Bosch mounted in my table that certainly works well but have never used a Shaper and don't know if it may be better for "bigger" work.

Thoughts and advice greatly appreciated

·
Registered
749 Posts
I asked the same question a while back because my dad had a shaper but not a router table years ago. If you don't already own shaper cutters they are a lot more money to buy than router bits. Shapers don't run router bits very well because they spin too slow. Stick seemed to like the 5 HP shapers not 3/4 hp. So I passed on the small shaper and later found a used Bench Dog router table. I am still a novice so I can't help you any special bits.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts
Anything you need to make a lot of is better done on a shaper. I'm also not sure about the 3/4 horsepower size though. I would want to try it with something like an RP bit mounted on the spindle to see how it handles it.

·
Registered
8,954 Posts
I started with a Grizly shaper you are talking about. It has 2 speeds and i think the top speed was around 12,000, It came with an adapter for router bits, and no shaper bits. I used it as a router table for about a year and made a few moldings with it.
What I found was that since router bits are mostly 2 flute bits that it did not have the power or speed enough to do a good job. Shaper bits are 3 and 4 flute bits and cost quite some more than router bits.
It is a well built machine and heavy duty, but not made for router bits and I didn't want to invest in shaper bits for it. I ended up going to a router table. I bought one from Rockler that had the lift-out plate,and was a happy camper.
Herb

·
Registered
Theo
6,907 Posts