Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question regarding something that happened today. I'm new to woodworking and trying to figure things out as I go. Currently I've used the "mega dado bit" from Infinity Tools to flatten two end grain butcher blocks and one cutting board with no troubles in the router planing sled/jig I made. My router is a brand new Bosch MRC23EVS.

I was using the {mega dado and planer router bit (#52-506)} to flatten an end grain butcher block made from walnut and hard maple today when the bit suddenly grabbed the wood and shuddered violently then causing the router to vibrate and make a terrible noise. Naturally I immediately shut it off. The bit had dug into the wood by about a millimeter. At the time I was only set to a cut depth of .6mm.

Now the router can't spin the mega dado bit straight yet other normal bits work fine.

Am I looking at a router problem or a bit/collet extension problem?

Sorry for the newbie question...
Any help is much appreciated.

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
Welcome N/A to Router forums...

the bit digging in suddenly could be a result of the bit moving in the collet or the sled flexing/rocking/tilting from down pressures from you causing the bit to ''dig'' in...
since, as you say, the bit now causes the router to shake (vibrate) but not not normal bits I'd say the mega bit is now bent...
when you run a normal bit as a test are you just running it or cutting w/ it???
did you have at least 1'' of the mega bit's shank seated in the collet???
how does the router behave w/ another large dia heavy massed bit in it???

w/ you being new to routering and all, the next few post will have some PDF's that you need to read...

Reactions: Herb Stoops

·
Registered
31,264 Posts

Attachments

Reactions: waynecochran

·
Registered
31,264 Posts

Attachments

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
.. ..

Attachments

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·