Router Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to routing and have a bench top router table and want to route an irregularly shaped piece using the table. I notice in videos online that most people doing this sort of thing have a pin which they can lean the work against while routing. My table does not have a pin, can the irregular shape still be accomplished. I am only going to do a round over on the piece.
Thanks, Gary

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Gary

You can add a starter/safety pin to your router table very easy, just drill a hole and tap it out to fit a brass bolt in ,without the head..it's best to have one on your table so it's worth the time to do it...

========

I am new to routing and have a bench top router table and want to route an irregularly shaped piece using the table. I notice in videos online that most people doing this sort of thing have a pin which they can lean the work against while routing. My table does not have a pin, can the irregular shape still be accomplished. I am only going to do a round over on the piece.
Thanks, Gary

Attachments

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Another question I have is where do you get the pins. Looks like a real easy solution, I appreciate the help.
Gary

·
Registered
23,786 Posts
Hi Gary

Can't say for sure without seeing a snapshot of your router plate, but the norm is to the right of the router bit about 2" to 2 1/2" from the bit.
Brass pin, stop by a ACE hardware store pickup a brass bolt, a long one with some clear shank on it (without threads)cut it off and put a slot in it .
You only need to end up with about 1/2" threads on one end and slot on the other end..so to say you need to cut off some threads and the other also...

You can also buy a lawn mower wheel bolt, that's a shoulder type at ACE and all you need to do is cut off the head..

========

Thanks, how about placement of the pin?
Gary

·
Registered
3,046 Posts