Router Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen I'm sure this is a novice question with a simple solution but I am relatively new to woodworking. I am making a custom shoe rack that involves routing of both sides of several 5-foot long oak boards. The routing went just fine on the narrower boards of 2 1/2 inch widths but on the 3 1/2 inch boards I keep getting tear out on the last inch to inch and a half. I made a sturdy backer board as I am getting to the end and used a ball bearing third hand support to hold the piece of the board that extends beyond the table. I am still getting tear out. I know the easy way would be to precut all my lengths two inches longer than I need just so I can cut those troublesome last inch or so. However that seems like cheating. I sure would like to do it right. Is handheld routing these cuts a better approach. Any help or suggestions is welcomed. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
John
6,935 Posts
You are probably running against the grain,can you flip the board 180* and cut with the grain

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was going against the grain on the first board but the next two occurred with the grain. I did not get as much tear out but continued to occur. Maybe I am not using the backer board properly. I am pushing forward but emphasizing the pressure to keeping the project board and the backer board edges square. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Sometimes the grain starts to run in a different direction as you go along, so I find it necessary to go to the end and pulling it being very careful. Another trick is to clamp a thin peice over it as a helper when you route to prevent tear out.

·
Registered
782 Posts