Router Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys I'm new to routers and wood work in general but have had to start making a ton of wooden signs for our local parks at work. I am getting pretty decent at it but sanding the inside the letters is a pain to me.

All I'm doing is taking a 2x12 or 2x8 and cutting the wording for whatever the park name is, then staining the board, then painting the letters white. If I don't sand down the inner walls of the letters and the top edges it's difficult to paint and makes the job twice as long. And it looks bad.

I've actually been using pieces of old belt sander belts to do this but the ones I'm left with aren't working as well. I tried a sanding block, which was quickly mutilated. I was also using a dremel to run inside the letters to smooth them out some prior to sanding but I broke the old bits. My boss hasn't purchased new bits yet.

Any suggestions? Sorry for a long first post/thread.

·
Official Greeter
18,753 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
577 Posts
Need sharp router bits.

Reactions: DesertRatTom

·
Registered
499 Posts