Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a home machinist with only a manual Milling machine in my shop, and am in the process of bringing a product to market. I am currently hiring an outside company to cut my smaller pieces of 1/8" thick type 1 gray pvc from full sheets via their CNC routing machine. It will of course be much more cost effective for me to cut these myself. I have no doubt that I will be able to learn how to do this, but would like to avoid as many beginner mistakes as possible by referring to experienced users out there. I have no hands-on CNC experience other than educating myself via watching my vendor do it, and researching on the web (I am very tech savvie). Here is some information on what my needs are, and some very basic questions. Thank you

I require perimeter and plunge cuts with a 1/8" endmill
Plunge varied depths with a 3/4" endmill
Either full or half sheet pvc capability

What is a good brand of machine?
What is the best CNC software?
What material would I use on the back/underneath?
Are there any other questions I should be asking?

I appreciate any and all responses!

·
Registered
5,299 Posts
Hello Firewire,this is a friendly forum & we like to know a persons' first name & location.Could be one or more of our members live near you & could offer some hands-on assistance. Please fill out your profile when you get a chance,Thank you. James jj777746

·
Administrator
David
3,976 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Ditto what James said - complete your profile when you get a minute. That really helps us to help you.

Are you wanting to buy a ready to use machine or do some of the build yourself? What's your budget, space available, tech savvy but have you used CAD programs before, etc.?

David

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hello,

Thanks to both of you for your response. I have updated my profile with my name (Paul), and my location (Phoenix, AZ).