Router Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice woodworker wishing to learn about routing. I have a Porter-Cable 8902 hand-held router. I also have a Porter-Cable 7518 under a General Excalibur cast iron router table. The router table is attached to a cast iron extension on the right side of my Sawstop Professional Cabinet saw.

You might think that so much cast iron on the side of the SawStop would make it unstable, but it's solid as a rock. When I lower the SawStop to its lower position, the two General Excalibur legs that I installed on the long end side of the router table are solidly on the floor, and I get no vibration when operating the router. The P:C 7518 is operated by a Jessem Master-R-Lift. I'm having to rig the General Excalibur fence as it was not designed for the Sawstop front and rear rails, and I'm not pleased with the aluminum fence bottom rubbing on the cast iron table. Maybe it won't scratch the table, but the rubbing sound every time I move the fence just bothers me.

As a subscriber to the Fine Woodworking magazine, I found the name of Pat Warner, a router expert via an article that he wrote in Fine Woodworking in the Sept/Oct 2000 issue on his "Micro-Adjustable Router Fence." I would like to replicate that fence. But I discovered him after he passed away this summer. If anyone is familiar with the router bases and router fences that Warner designed, you may be as impressed with his designs as I am. I've not been able to determine if his business will be assumed by a second party. His website has been taken down. I would like to know if any Router Forum participant has does so, and if he's care to share his thoughts on his success. I found a website that discusses Pat Warner at "Tom's Workbench." So, that's who I am, and what I'm up to.

·
Official Greeter
Ross
8,350 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

·
Super Moderator
John
6,840 Posts
Hello and welcome to the router forum

·
Super Moderator
David