Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
499 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Do any of you have a radio or small stereo in your workshops? I am planning to build one using car audio gear and a 12 volt power supply. I'm using car audio gear for several reasons. First, I have been a car audio enthusiast much longer than I have been a woodworker. Second, it is made for harsher environments so I figure a little dust or cold air won't have the same effect as it would on home audio gear. Third, it just looks dang cool, and fourth, because of the components being separated, and smallish in size, I can litterally mount the CD player into the front of a custom made shelf and not lose any space from having this added, and I can custom design the speaker enclosures to fit wherever I want them to go. I can also get overall better sound from car audio from more robust designs in the speakers, and plan to use some fat 6x9 speakers for plenty of bass output at a modest power level. 4 total speakers, one in each corner of the room, probably mounted overhead and angled downwards, so they're up out of the way, not directly facing each other to avoid wave cancelations, and still cover the main work area well.