Router Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was at Lowes tonight, actually looking for a very large socket I needed to work on a guy's truck I'm fixing, but I always have to look in the woodworking sections in hopes that something good is on sale or clearance. Well I found this one for $45+ my 10% off coupon which brought it down to roughly $40. I was pretty excited about the find, then reading the directions realized it won't fit my hybrid drill press, it's the one pictured where you add your own drill. Thinking I would look at getting a benchtop drill press so I could use this kit, I started looking at various reviews on this kit. A lot of them weren't very good so now I'm trying to decide if I should keep it or return it and just make them with my plunge router. I have no experience with mortise and tenon's but am very anxious to get started learning.

You can find the one I'm referring to here:
Amazon.com: DELTA 17-924 Mortising Attachment with 1/4 Inch, 5/16 Inch, 3/8 Inch, and 1/2 Inch Chisel and Bit Sets: Home Improvement

Attachments

· Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The one thing about reviews is the people that like the things they buy more than likly will not right a review.Mine is the next step down from your it did not have the chisels with it is the only difference.I have a Craftsman drill press which I don't use any of the collars mine fits without the collars.Do you have a drill press now?
I do not have a drill press, just the type shown in the picture in my first post. I was thinking that if that one didn't work I would probably keep my eye out for a small one I can afford, which won't be a lot.

I agree with you about the reviews. I have not done many, positive or negative and have been telling myself I really need to since I rely on them so much for purchasing.

· Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·