Router Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to routers and sign making. I recently bought the Makita RT071C just for making signs and have made some crude tests using a 1/4-inch straight bit that I already had from my fathers old Sears router. The most difficult part of trying this has been the lack of enough light to see what I am doing. Flashlight in one hand, router in the other hand. This isn’t as easy as it looks. The easiest for me so far is just to sketch the letters on the wood with a pencil. Controlling the router without enough light isn’t easy. I have heard about the Rockler Interlock Sign Maker's Templates - State Park Font Kits and those look promising when I want exact letters. I’ve not seen these mentioned on this forum at all...yet. Does anyone here use them and what kind of bit works the best with these templates?

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
add a flex LED light to the router...

Reactions: kp91

·
Registered
Theo
7,195 Posts
Get a cute female to hold your flashlight.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Other options

I have and use two Milescraft products, the Signcrafter (I think it's called) and the Pantograph.

What I don't like about the Signcrafter is that you are limited to the font that is offered, although in 2 sizes, upper & lower case, plus numbers. But it is fairly easy to use and is consistent. The Rockler version requires attaching each letter individually. I haven't used that system but it's probably very similar. The Signcrafter sets up your letters in a fixed "track".

The Pantograph is basically unlimited as to font & size but has a little more of a learning curve than the Signcrafter.

I, as well as several people I know, also make signs freehand and there is a guy named Dave (?) who has a lot of YouTube videos about freehand sign making. A light may be helpful but really is probably not necessary. Maybe a clear (v. black) baseplate on your router also helps.