Router Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to turning. Here is one problem I had that has now been at least partially solved by experimentation, but I have not seen it addressed anywhere. Perhaps some of you have had this problem, or care to comment on it.

I watched many videos on turning, and the person in the clip never seems to have any problem moving the tool along the tool rest. I hold the tool handle in one hand, and the other hand grips the tool against the tool rest; as I push the tool along the tool rest, it sometimes seems to get stuck, then jumps forward. I filed the top of the tool rest a little to remove some nicks, and then tried a little wax on the rest, both resulting in slight improvements. I also rounded the corners of the tools, so when I did get a catch, it didn't make a nick in the rest. The biggest improvement came when I realized that the underside of my cast iron rest was very rough from the mold material, and my hand would not move smoothly against it. After smoothing the casting where my hand rubbed the rest, I am getting much smoother turnings. I am thinking about replacing my rest with one made from round steel rod.

Any other ideas?

Thanks,
Charlieham42

·
Registered
2,983 Posts
+1 what Neville said and welcome to the forum. Smoothing the surfaces of the rest should also help. Keep watch on the area where the tools move.

·
Premium Member
2,733 Posts
I had the same problem with cheap tool rests. I bought the Robust tool rests for my Nova lathe and for my mini Jet lathe. I haven't looked back since. I have had them now for several years and still give good service with no catching or slipping. You can check this site out. For 16? Lathe with 1? Diameter Post | Robust Woodturning Tools

For 10? or 12? Mini Lathe Tool Rests ? 5/8 or 16 mm Diameter Post | Robust Woodturning Tools

For my Jet I have a 3" and 6". For my Nova I have the 4" and 9" comfort rest.

Reactions: IslandMike

·