Router Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya folks,
I need to find a router bit which will cut the profile of a machine gear. I need the bit to cut a diemetral pitch of 8. That's a specific size of gear tooth.

You see, I've designed the workings for a grand-father clock (I'm an engineer by trade) and I want to make the whole thing from wood. I've looked at cutting the gear profiles with a scroll saw but that's just not precise enough to yield accurate time. I came up with a way to mass produce the gears, I think, if only I could find that router bit.

Yes, I have talked to two manufacturers about a custom profile. To date, I've had no takers...it's a complicated profile.

Thanks

·
Banned
11,934 Posts
Sounds like you need a retired toolmaker with his own shop, or at least access to one. Have you tried this path? You might also try checking with industrial drive repair companies although I think they would just replace instead of repair a gear. Another place that might surprise you is a company that repairs marine propellors and drive trains. They often do custom work.

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
dobiepg said:
Hiya folks,
I need to find a router bit which will cut the profile of a machine gear. I need the bit to cut a diemetral pitch of 8. That's a specific size of gear tooth.

You see, I've designed the workings for a grand-father clock (I'm an engineer by trade) and I want to make the whole thing from wood. I've looked at cutting the gear profiles with a scroll saw but that's just not precise enough to yield accurate time. I came up with a way to mass produce the gears, I think, if only I could find that router bit.

Yes, I have talked to two manufacturers about a custom profile. To date, I've had no takers...it's a complicated profile.

Thanks