Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, complete newbie here. Almost all of the very small amount I know (or believe I know), about CNC machines, I learned from reading the forums. While trying to sort out which CNC machine is the right fit for me, some use a spindle, others use a router. From what I've read spindles offer more power, quieter, more exact, but are heavier, more expensive, and not as easily replaced. Routers are less expensive, larger selection, when the brushes lead to too large a tolerance you replace the brushes or unit. Some of the machines I'm looking at use one or the other. I will be just a hobbyist, I'm an electrician and cannot really contemplate any circumstances that turn me into a commercial enterprise with the work shop. Any thoughts /opinions on which is better, or even if this is just 6 of one, half dozen of the other, would be appreciated. Just one more factor in the decision I'm trying to work out. Thank You, Artie

·
Registered
206 Posts
I have had both and after the spindle I would never go back. You can use more different size bits in a spindle it is much quieter the power is better. You can adjust the speed better also

·
Premium Member
17,424 Posts
Some 3D stuff takes a long time to cut . Imagine listening to a router going for a straight 14 hours . Your in a townhouse , there's your answer right there

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
My vote is for a spindle. Yes, they are more expensive, but will outlast 10+ routers. They are quieter and made to run for constant long periods of time, whereas routers usually are used for short periods of time, and are switched on and off a lot.

Water cooled spindles, in my opinion, are a bit messy, especially for a less than commercial operation. My air cooled spindle runs very cool, lets you talk in a normal voice (no ear plugs needed) and performs very nicely.

Just my thoughts.

HJ

Reactions: Scottart

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
Jay,