Router Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8,954 Posts
That is the dumbest thing I have ever seen on how to figure a set of stairs, who ever that was ,has never built a set of stars before.
Go to UTube and read the comments.
There are a set of code requirements that have to be conformed to, not just "Well lets see here ,I think I will build a set of stairs here".
Herb

No Offense to you, Jim, but that is a misleading video.

·
Registered
31,264 Posts
That is the dumbest thing I have ever seen on how to figure a set of stairs, who ever that was ,has never built a set of stars before.
Herb
gotta agree w/ ya there...
the finished floors were never figured in...
like Herb said... No Offense to you, Jim, but that is a misleading video.

Reactions: Herb Stoops

·
Registered
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
gotta agree w/ ya there...
the finished floors were never figured in...
like Herb said... No Offense to you, Jim, but that is a misleading video.
Yeah, I have no knowledge of building. My interest was learning to draw the geometry in Sketchup. For example, my 93 year old Mom wants to have a gradually sloping stepped ramp built from her high back door to the patio level. She can't lift her feet very high, and would like for there to be a series of 4 inch high steps that are each a little platform to rest at along the way.

So I could use this to get an idea of how far out onto the patio the assembly would extend, and know how big each platform can be to allow the frame to fit in the space available, and to end up evenly at the driveway. She can give the measured drawing to the builder to better convey what she's asking for.

·
Retired Moderator
16,385 Posts