Router Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Newbie here. What is the main use of a straight vs. trimmer guide? I've been using my router for awhile with the straight guide, but I'm not sure when I'd use the trimmer guide (Makita M3600 Router).

Attached photos show:
1. straight guide
2. straight guide with trimmer guide attached

Attachments

·
Registered
808 Posts
In my personal experience, I find the bearing guide to be quite a questionable guide. I tried it once and found that when using it... if the router was not held absolutely at a right angle to what it was guided from, it would over cut and ruin the object I was routing. I kept it but never used it again. I think a two point bearing guide would be better, but have not seen them available. I think your question is valid and would like to hear other opinions.

Bob, have you ever used one?

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
Welcome to the forum Michael. I can say I haven't seen such an attachment before but can see that as a single guide point it would allow for pattern guiding on different shapes. That said I think this would be far easier when done using a router table that has a pivot point and a cutter with a guide bearing. In that operation you'd be moving the wood, in the proper direction of course, while the router is stable.

·
Registered
530 Posts
Hi Michael,
I have a couple of those bearing guides that came with various routers, but like Gary, have found them less than useful.
Not because they don't work, but because they have been largely superseded in usefulness.

What the manual does not tell you, is that the diameter of the router bit, must be smaller than the outer diameter of the bearing, otherwise what Gary experienced, will happen.